Maclay Regional Winners Look Towards 2016 ASPCA Maclay Finals

Lexington, KY – Sept. 27, 2016 – With the 2016 ASPCA Maclay Horsemanship Finals just over a month away at the CP National Horse Show in Lexington, Kentucky, the nation’s top junior equitation riders have officially earned their tickets following September’s Regional Championships.

In order to earn their chance to participate in the esteemed finals, the riders first competed to qualify through the Regional Championships held in eight different regions of the United States. Winning their respective regions this year were Katherine Bundy, Maya Nayyar, Grace Boston, Brian Moggre, Trinity Hammerschmidt, Lanie Walkenbach, Rachael Davis and Sydney Hutchins.

The ASPCA Maclay Horsemanship class has been held since 1933, and it is one of the most prestigious competitions for junior riders in the United States. Among previous winners are some of the biggest names in equestrian sport including William Steinkraus (1941), Frank Chapot (1948), George Morris (1952), Leslie Burr Howard (1972) and Nicole Shahinian Simpson (1992). The 2013 ASPCA Maclay Finals winner was Lillie Keenan, while Tori Colvin claimed the title in 2014. Most recently, it was Mckayla Langmeier who earned the championship during the 2015 National Horse Show.

Katherine Bundy, Region 1.

This year, the highly competitive Region 1 Finals were held during the American Gold Cup at Old Salem Farm. The win went to Katherine Bundy of Westport, Connecticut, who, for the second year in a row, edged out the field of 70 contestants to take home the blue ribbon. The second-place ribbon was awarded to Eve Jobs of Palo Alto, California, while Coco Fath of Fairfield, Connecticut, brought home third.

In the equally competitive Region 2 Finals, which were also held at Old Salem Farm, Maya Nayyar of New York, New York, came away with the win, while Madison Goetzmann of Skaneateles, New York, placed second, and TJ O’Mara of Rumson, New Jersey, took third.

The blue ribbon in the Region 3 Finals went to Grace Boston of Baltimore, Maryland, with Olivia Woodson of Wellington, Florida, taking home second. In third was Elizabeth McKim of Vonore, Tennessee.

Coming away with the Region 4 victory at the Kentucky National Horse Show was Brian Moggre of Flower Mound, Texas, while Emma Kurtz of Hudson, Ohio, earned second and Paige Matthies of Lake Leelanua, Michigan, finished in third.

In the Region 5 Finals, Trinity Hammerschmidt of Virginia claimed the win, while Isabella Baxter from St. Louis, Missouri, brought home second place. Following in third was last year’s winner, Hunter Holloway of Topeka, Kansas.

The Colorado Horse Park hosted the Region 6 Finals, where Lanie Walkenbach bested the field to take the win. Finishing in second was Jaden Olsen, while Allison Zimmerman came in third.

On the west coast, the Region 7 Finals took place at the NorthWest Autumn Classic, where Rachael Davis was awarded the blue ribbon. Emma Glaunert placed second, and Megan Champoux took third.

Also on the west coast, Sydney Hutchins won the Region 8 Finals at the Blenheim Fall Tournament. Kayla Lott earned the second-place ribbon, and Emma Marlowe rounded out the top three.

Qualified riders now have their sights set on the 2016 CP National Horse Show, where the ASPCA Maclay Horsemanship Final will be held over two days. The first round kicks of at 5:30 a.m. on Saturday, November 5, while the final round will be held on Sunday, November 6.

Beginning September 17, applicants can apply for the Leo Conroy Maclay Grant by visiting, completing the form with the information outlined above, and attaching their essay. All applications must be completed and submitted online through No hard copy applications will be accepted. Applications will be accepted between September 17, 2016 and October 7, 2016. Applicants will receive a confirmation email when their application is received. Applicants will receive a response by October 17, 2016.

The Leo Conroy Maclay Grant will provide financial assistance for up to five (5) qualified Maclay riders based upon the application and required two-part essay.

For more information visit